Processor Directory > YapStone

YapStone Review

DOES NOT OFFER CERTIFIED QUOTES THROUGH CARDFELLOW What does this mean?
YapStone (which also powers RentPayment.com and VacationRentPayment.com) is a processor that focuses on serving businesses that have traditionally been check-based, like rent payments. YapStone feels that paper checks slow down business, reduce productivity, and even cost businesses money. Here, you can find out if YapStone is right for your business by getting the details about their services, rates and fees, customer reviews, and more.
About this processor:

VERIFIED REVIEWS

SPECIALIZES IN B-TO-B

DEDICATED CARDFELLOW REP

ACCEPTS HIGH RISK

HIPAA COMPLIANT

QUICKBOOKS PLUGIN

Are you a YapStone representative? Claim this profile

Processor(s)

 

Acquiring Bank(s)

 


History

YapStone got into payment processing in 1999 by launching RentPayment, the credit card processing payment option for apartment rentals.

What can YapStone help me with?

Designed for rent payments, YapStone lets you take regular payments from long-term tenants, payments for short-term vacation rentals, storage unit rental payments, and more.

YapStone homepage

Taking Payments

YapStone lets you quickly and safely take credit cards, debit cards, ACH payments, and cash through multiple channels, including online, by email, via mobile app, by phone, by text, or in person.

YapStone enables payment acceptance through a payments API that functions as a gateway for online payments, using point-of-sale swipers for in-person transactions, mobile payment options through the use of apps, and customizable web applications to use with a virtual terminal for entering payment information you receive by phone. All methods benefit from security technologies, including encryption, to help reduce the chances of fraud.

Processing International Payments

Since YapStone offers payment processing for businesses like vacation rentals, you might find it necessary to take payment in another currency. YapStone supports multiple international currencies, including Euros, Canadian dollars, British pounds, and more. You can choose your settlement currency to make sure you get paid in your own preferred currency.

Equipment

YapStone doesn’t provide many details about equipment. As the company focuses heavily on rental payments, many YapStone customers accept payment online or in-person using a virtual terminal and therefore don’t need point-of-sale equipment. Online and virtual terminal payments require a computer with internet access to use. YapStone may be able to support some types of in-person swiper devices if you prefer to use that type of equipment.

Tell me about security

YapStone is Level 1 PCI compliant, helping to reduce the chances of fraud or other security issues. Additionally, YapStone uses third party fraud prevention software monitored by a dedicated payments safety team.

What are the costs?

YapStone doesn’t publish rate or fee information to use their services. No problem! You can get a quote from YapStone directly through CardFellow. Your quote will be fully disclosed. To get started, sign up for a free CardFellow account and request a quote from Yapstone.

YapStone Reviews

YapStone’s reputation is intertwined online with the reputations of its offshoot companies (like VacationRentPayment.com and RentPayment.com) which means that many of the available reviews are from tenants and renters, not from the business using YapStone for payment processing.

YapStone on Yelp

Yelp is one of the places where YapStone reviews are from business owners. As of late November 2015, there are 2 one-star reviews for a one-star total rating for YapStone. Reviews accuse YapStone of predatory practices and fee structures, poor customer service, and inability to fix problems.

YapStone and RentPayment.com at the Better Business Bureau

YapStone, Inc. doesn’t have a profile with the Better Business Bureau, but RentPayment.com does. Neither company name is accredited with the BBB, but RentPayment.com’s profile indicates an A+ rating nonetheless. Companies that have profiles but not accreditation have not necessarily sought out accreditation, so it isn’t an automatic indication that the BBB advises against the company.

As of late November 2015, RentPayment.com has had 27 complaints lodged with the BBB in the past 3 years. The majority of the complaints (17) are in the category “Billing/Collection Issues” with the remaining complaints spread among “Problems with Product/Service” (7 complaints), “Advertising/Sales Issues” (2 complaints), and “Delivery Issues” (1 complaint.)

Not all details are available, but readable complaints allege inaccurate late fees, high payment fees, and fees not clearly disclosed. However, these complaints seem to primarily come from tenants complaining about the fees, not from businesses complaining about their processing fees. It is not clear if (or how many) of the remaining complaints apply to business owners using YapStone instead of tenants paying.

Do you use YapStone for your payment processing? Leave a review!

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
0/5

Unlike general web reviews, verified reviews are posted by businesses that have chosen the processor's quote through CardFellow's marketplace, and CardFellow has confirmed with the processor that the business is using its service. Businesses can update verified reviews at any time to ensure the review accurately reflects the processor's performance over time.

There are no verified reviews for this processor
SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1.2/5

Unlike verified reviews which are validated by CardFellow, web reviews can be submitted by anyone viewing this profile. While we validate these reviews as best we can, CardFellow does not verify that a reviewer is using or has used a processor's service.

Do you Know this processor? Write a review about it

Write a Review

Posted by Darilyn on Nov 03, 2018

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/5

Terrible!!!! I will never use them again. Even if it means I don't get bookings through HomeAway or VRBO! They stole a payment of mine for over $900.00 through a fraudulent claim. I have a 5 star rating and have had that for over 8years. They believe the renter over proof of my record, documentation, property management and photos. Not fair that they can pull your money right out of your bank account.

Posted by Adelaide on Oct 22, 2018

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/5

Chances are the one 5-star review is an employee. This is the worst company I've ever dealt with and I agree vrbo must be getting kickbacks. I manage 5 listings and each time they come up for renewal and are changed to Yapstone it's a nighmare, which includes numerous hours on the phone and computer getting it processed. I have 2 left to do and dread it. On the last one, they connected it to the wrong bank account, which belonged to a completely different owner that has nothing to do with the property. I had to do a bank change order for their egregious error. If this keeps us, I believe many owners will start renting long term or selling. With the new vrbo service fees and this hassle, it's really not worth it anymore.

Posted by Shron on Jun 01, 2018

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
0/5

Yapstone is the worst in the business.They are only in business because VRBO/HA force the advertisers on their site to use them. I would guess there is serious collusion/kickbacks being paid to VRBO/HA by Yapstone to turn a blind eye while VRBO/HA advertisers are being robbed and having their private financial information left unprotected. Yapstone does no due diligence to prevent the fraudulent use of credit cards. They should be held criminally and civilly liable for their blatant disregard for security of the people that are forced to use them. VRBO/HA (Expedia) should be held liable as well.

Posted by Simon on Dec 07, 2017

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/5

Comparing to other online vacation / short term rental companies, VRBO / HomeAway + Yapstone aka HolidayRentPayment is simply the worst combination. It charges the highest fees (9% on average comparing to 3% charged by Airbnb), but provides no service or protection at all. Does that highest fee mean its service is the best? On the contrary, it’s the worst. According to VRBO / HomeAway, it is just a Craigslist and won't be responsible for anything at all. It is so easy for any fraudster to cheat owner / host and live at your vacation properties for free. You can get a chargeback months down the road from a cheating guest, claiming whatever ridiculous excuse. Whenever you get that, VRBO / HomeAway washes their hands & walks away, for they’re just a Craigslist. So go ahead & ask the Yapstone / HolidayRentPayment to do something, for they’re the ones charging extra fees every time to handle the “fund processing”. Well, don’t bother. You WILL lose every dollar and more, for you have to pay Yapstone extra “processing fees” to “fight the chargeback”. Yapstone / HolidayRentPayment will happily pocket that extra fee from you, but won't do anything at all. We just went through such a process at the end of 2017, from a VISA chargeback. The following is the exact process we went through with Yapstone / HolidayRentPayment, and see with your own eyes how unprofessional, incompetent & ridiculous that company is. 1. Got email from Yapstone regarding the chargeback. 2. We emailed evidence and documents on the next day to Yapstone to fight the fraudulent chargeback, totally following instructions on Yapstone’s email. 3. We then called Yapstone and confirmed they received our response. 4. We also received email from Yapstone confirming they received our response. 5. Weeks down the road, just days before the “evidence sending deadline”, we received another email from Yapstone, claiming they haven't received any evidence from us so there's nothing they can do unless we do that right away. Ridiculously, in that same email, you can see their previous confirmation that they received our evidence and documents. 6. We emailed evidence and documents, again for the 2nd time, to Yapstone right away. 7. We again received email from Yapstone confirming they received our documents, and they will “submit your chargeback dispute documents to the card issuing bank.” 8. About a week after the deadline, we received another email from Yapstone, saying “Please be informed as we did not receive a response before the expiration date provided in our initial e-mail, this case has now been closed per regulatory guidelines. Unfortunately, we have no further chargeback rights to pursue on your behalf.” And right in that same email, you can see their previous two confirmations, yes TWICE, that they received our evidence and documents If the first time mess up was due to Yapstone’s unprofessionalism & incompetence, the 2nd time exact same mess up can’t be explained by any logic. The only explanation left is Yapstone purposely designs its system to not give owner / host any chance to win back any chargeback. Instead, it happily helps any fraudster to cheat money out of honest owner/host’s pocket, for it can shamelessly make extra in “processing fees”. We did a brief Google search and it proves our suspicion. Many other owners/hosts went through the same process of being cheated by fraudulent chargebacks. The loss is anywhere from a few hundred dollars to a few thousand, or even in one case $15,000 on a luxury vacation property. Sadly in all those cases, not a single owner/host ever got anything back from the fraudsters. Thanks to VRBO / HomeAway & its payment handling partner Yapstone aka HolidayRentPayment’s astonishingly irresponsible operations.

Posted by Linda Garmon on Aug 12, 2017

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/5

The so-called "chargeback" department FOR VRBO is non-existent. There is no one representing your case if you have been the victim of a fraudulent chargeback. This company is using predatory policies and a scam set-up that you think will help get your charges reversed. I had an open and shut case of someone who used a credit card chargeback because I have a no-refund policy for cancellations. This guest cancelled days before Marathon Weekend, a lucrative rental period. Most guests rent a year in advance, and these guests canceled days before the weekend. And yet, they were allowed to issue a chargeback through their VISA. VRBO backed me, but Yapstone doesn't really work on chargebacks, even though they get paid to do it. They do nothing on the matter until they say they need to go to arbitration, and they try to wrangle hundreds of dollars out of you. It's pure scam, top to bottom. There is no rep who knows your case and many of the emails are filled with grammatical errors. This is one of the worst companies in the whole world.

Posted by Linda on Aug 10, 2017

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/5

I received an e-mail 7/13/17 from Yapstone stating payment made to property listing had been reported as an unauthorized transaction/pending an upcoming chargeback reversal. I was asked to decline and refund the the reservation on my dashboard. I did so and called Homeaway as well to explain the circumstances. The first step should have been to call via phone and explain. I missed reading the e-mail while these people stayed with me for 2 days. Once I found out they were asked to leave. On 8/5/17 I receive an e-mail stating the $75.00 damage security fee would be refunded to them. I called and explained the situation to Yapstone. I spoke to someone who was located in the Phillipines who did not seem knowledgeable at all. I wanted them to reverse sending them a payment. Then on 7/10/17 I receive an e-mail from Yapstone stating they just wanted to inform me that the "card was high risk and does not mean the payment did not go through." They changed the whole script. If you say unauthorized that means it was used unlawfully now they want to say something else. I stated you say these travelers are verified. Well evidently they are not. Then they debited $681.45 from my account stating that the traveler did a chargeback which happened 8/10/17. My credit card companies do an investigation before they do chargebacks. They tell you they must contact the merchant for the dispute. Now they want me to send in documentation. Why? Everything is already online. I'm not going to bother. The lesson I learned was not to book someone close to the day of their stay. Look to see if they're on Facebook. If the e-mail does not match their name; I am skeptical. I hope i never hear from Yapstone again.

Posted by Lily on Aug 02, 2017

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
5/5

Never had an issue with hidden fees or customer service. They were able to save me a couple of hundred a month compared to my last merchant account. Had an issue with chargebacks and they were able to help me signup with a cdrn to mitigate chargeback rate. I would recommend them over the last company I was with for sure.

Posted by Tobi on May 02, 2017

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/5

I received a fraudulent chargeback from YapStone. On their website they advertise that they use "advanced fraud detection techniques" but then admitted to me that they didn't even check the name on the credit card used by the renter - and they refused to provide me any information so that I could check the credit card against the ID or pursue the person who filed the chargeback. YapStone makes their money by charging exorbitant fees to fight chargebacks - that they don't ever win. They have a horrible reputation for a reason. Run, don't walk, away from this company.

Posted by Val Lannes on Mar 25, 2017

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/5

Be very careful if you choose Yapstone aka Vacation Rent Payment as your merchant provider. You have to know that you are on your own with no protection against fraudulent chargebacks. Their chargebacks department makes a profit when you opt to go to "pre-arbitration" for $300. Yes, $300. Their success rate is barely 5%. They throw you a bone here and there. Everything is automated. How do I know? It's very simple. When the credit holder files a claim and the response from Yapstone for being decline has nothing to do with the claim itself, you know it's all computer generated. What you get as a response is that you can opt to go to Pre-Arbitration at the cost of $300. So, if you want a merchant account that does not care about you as a client, you found the right company. If you want someone to never return your calls, you found the right company. They stay in business because of their HomeAway account. That's another reason they don't care about you. You're just disposable. Just another number. Their chargeback department is just for show.

Posted by Rich on Feb 28, 2017

SATISFACTION
RATES & FEES
CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/5

Have used them to process payments from travelers booking my home on Home Away / VRBO. They use the chargeback process to recapture payments made after travelers stay at the house. They do little to guarantee against traveler fraud. Had to delete my listings on Home Away / VRBO & went entirely with Airbnb who handles their own payments. I believe Yapstone is ripe for a class action lawsuit. Many other people have posted similar complaints on other review websites.

Top
Want to use the numbers? Register now and access all the features! Sign Up Now!