CardFellow is a marketplace where credit card processors compete for your business. Create your free profile, receive instant quotes and save an average of 40%.
How it Works Read the Faqs
Ask for a quote

These experts helped us to
create our product content:

Poynt Review

Credit Card Machines

The Poynt credit card processing machine is getting some attention for its interesting design and claims of being “future proof.” The Android-based terminal has dual screens within a single device – one screen faces the cashier, and the other screen faces the customer.

The idea behind Poynt’s dual screens is that you won’t need to hand over a terminal or swivel around the screen for customers to sign or add a tip, and both people using the machine have some privacy. It looks nice, and can add convenience to your checkout process, but what about the other details, like features and pricing? This Poynt review and profile has the info you need if you’re considering the Poynt terminal.

What does “future proof” mean as far as the Poynt system?

Poynt talks on its website about how payment technologies change rapidly, meaning customers frequently access new ways of paying. The US is in the midst of a shift to EMV chip cards, Apple Pay and other NFC/digital wallet payment options are here, and who knows what other technologies will come up in the future.

The Poynt system claims to minimize the need to switch terminals every time new technology comes on the scene by offering ways to take all existing payment forms and providing open development channels and the ability to add apps for different functions.

While making a definitive claim that you would never need a new terminal would be a stretch, Poynt currently accepts all forms of payment, including the newer EMV and NFC (contactless) technologies, as well as QR code and barcode scanning. QR code scanning will allow the Poynt system to accept Chase Pay, a digital wallet that doesn’t utilize tap-to-pay/NFC technology. Between accepting EMV, contactless payments, and QR codes, it’s fairly likely that the Poynt terminal will be able to handle any new type of payment for awhile.

Is Poynt a point of sale system?

Not exactly. While it doesn’t look like the typical credit card machines that have PIN pads and small screens, the Poynt system is still a credit card machine, not a full-fledged POS system. It’s closer to a cash register replacement. Poynt does plan to offer additional POS system functions in the future, at which point the machine may become more of a point of sale system. Check out the video below to see Poynt in action.

 

Features

As mentioned above, Poynt is not a POS system, so if you need the wide range of features offered by a full point of sale solution, you’ll want to look elsewhere. (Check our POS system directory for other options.) However, if you’re looking for a cash register replacement with features like portability, store and forward capabilities, and basic reporting, Poynt is worth a look.

Mobility

The Poynt machine is portable, so you can move around with it for any number of reasons. Maybe you want to offer curbside pickup at your restaurant – your staff can carry the Poynt terminal outside to take payment. Hitting a fair to sell your goods? Bring your Poynt machine.

Store and Forward

Poynt offers an offline processing mode (also known as ”store and forward”) if a connection is not available. You can still accept payments in the offline mode to process at a later time, so you won’t miss sales just because of connection problems.

Reporting

The reporting app, Poynt HQ, offers information on transactions and trends as well as customer information. You can search sales data and export it for further analysis and business management. The reporting app offers information using smartphones or computers.

Credit Card Processing with Poynt

Poynt is not proprietary and can work with many existing processors. That’s good news if you’re trying to keep credit card processing costs down, as you have more opportunity to find the most competitive solution.

Poynt is compatible with major processors including Chase Paymentech, Vantiv, First Data, Elavon, TSYS, Global Payments, and more. Note that this doesn’t mean you need a direct account with those companies; there are many smaller processing companies (ISOs) that can support the Poynt machine. Get credit card processing quotes.

Security

Poynt is fully PCI compliant, utilizes end-to-end encryption, and meets EMV requirements. Additionally, Poynt comes with 24 hour fraud and tamper detection to help ensure maximum safety and security.

Specs

Poynt has a variety of features for customer and business convenience, and anticipates adding more features in the future.

Connectivity and Communication

The Poynt terminal connects to Wifi and 3G networks, and includes Bluetooth connectivity. Currently, Ethernet connectivity is not available, though a dock with Ethernet capability is in the works. A micro USB port allows connection for recharging the battery.

Display

The cashier-facing screen is an 800 x 1280 pixel 7” touchscreen tablet display and includes a cashier-facing camera. The customer-facing screen is an 800 x 480 pixel 4.3” touchscreen display with an NFC antenna surrounding the touchscreen for easy contactless payments.

Keypad

The Poynt terminal features a touchscreen display with an on-screen keypad. Optional external PIN pads may be supported if you prefer the feel of physical keys.

Printer

A built-in thermal printer is under the customer-facing screen, with the receipt slot facing the customer for quick access. Poynt recommends 2-1/4” x 16” printer rolls.

Accessories

Poynt supports optional accessories if you need more from your machine. You can add cash registers, produce scales, check readers, and more.  

Pricing

Poynt itself doesn’t charge per transaction fees. Your costs to use Poynt will be the purchase of the machine itself, and the credit card processing charges from the processor you choose.

Product Features

Universal

Credit Card Machines

  • Dial-Up
  • Dual/Comm
  • Wireless
  • Wifi
  • Contactless
  • EMV/ Smartcard
  • Built in Contactless Reader
  • NFC Capable
  • Internal PIN Pad
  • Store & Forward
  • Multiple merchant support
  • Multi application support
  • Encrypted

Poynt Q&A

Dharma Merchant Services answer:

Yes!

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

To enable tip through Poynt the merchant will want to log onto their Poynt HQ (www.poynt.net) and go to the ?Business? tab. There will be a button on the bottom left that says ?Manage Store?. Click that button and then go to the ?Payment Settings? tab where there should be a toggle switch to enable/disable tip. Screenshots below. If you are still having trouble then whoever set up your account should be able to change it for you.?

Thanks,?

TSYS Team


Dharma Merchant Services answer:

Assuming tips are enabled, the customer will have an option to tip during the sale, on the customer-facing screen. You can edit tip acceptance by following these instructions: https://dharmamerchantservices.com/faq/customizing-tips-with-poynt/


TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

Please refer to Poynt's website and customer support for these questions.

Thanks
Team TSYS

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

It's actually recommended that you don't use a stylus.?

Thanks,

TSYS Team?


Dharma Merchant Services answer:

It's a standard touchscreen, so most styluses should work - that being said, it's designed to function best with your fingers.


TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

https://www.cardfellow.com/product-directory/credit-card-machines/poynt/poynt/

Thanks,

TSYS Team

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

This is not a device that we internally support. Please refer to the reseller of this device for specific questions on functionality.?

Thanks
Team TSYS

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

Plastic back, glass front, very similar to an Andriod device.

Thanks,

TSYS Team

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

Please call your Poynt reseller for this information, this is a device we don't support internally. 

Thanks
Team TSYS


Poynt Reviews (23)

Do you know this product? Write a review about it
from CardFellow, on Aug 08, 2016

The Poynt credit card machine/POS system doesn't take up a ton of space, which is nice. It also accepts a lot of different payment types.

from CLINTON, on Oct 09, 2016

Love it, I sell it for a living. I wish I could use one every day.

from Inna Rudenko, on Jul 07, 2017

Not recommended. Service is really bad!! I tried to call 3 times for 10-15 min and always put me on hold, after I wait so much they just hang up the phone.

from Stacy, on Aug 03, 2017

I have spent at lest 10-15 hours watching videos, calling and emailing for how-tos for my retail store set up. After watching the web ex and speaking to 2 different sales reps through Costco I felt assured that they understood my exact needs. Unfortunately for me they did not. Kudos to their customer service for always being very polite and professional and working hard to try and find a resolution. I am still not sure this product is the best for my business but I still would recommend it.

from Mindy, on Oct 12, 2017

First issue, if you have any connection issues (which happen all the time), your POYNT terminal will not function properly and slow down the checkout process for customers. There is no option for programming the POYNT POS terminal for unit pricing, only items. They recommend using their partner app Ehopper, which is TERRIBLE and charges for a service that should not be out of beta testing, in my opinion. You cannot discount an order ticket 100%, again they recommend their terrible partner app Ehopper. These are basic POS functions, POYNT needs to be developed further before its release to the market place. Do not waste your money on this POS! There are so many better options out there on the market right now.

from Madison, on Nov 20, 2017

I started using the brand about a month ago and all of a sudden it wouldn't accept my customers' cards saying it's invalid or it's declined. I called the company, waited two hours to actually get some help, which didn't even help me. They did not know what was going on with the machine. So they gave me a number to call, I called them but they didn't pick up. Its only been a month, no, less than a month, the machine should still be working. They do not want to give me a refund or even try to see what the problem. This is a waste of your money, do not get it! If I could give it a zero starred rating, I would.

from Susan, on Nov 20, 2017

There are already problems with my terminal, and I have only had it for less than a month. When I called customer service, not only were they no help, they also gave a phone number that when I tried calling, no one answer. It was my biggest mistake to spend so much money on this useless device. If you are considering getting this, I would definitely not recommend this company.

from Tyler Johnson, on Dec 07, 2017

The product had potential, it looked beautiful, but as soon as it arrived in the office it wouldn't print receipts. Lots of bugs in the software. I have had to do 5 hard restarts on the phone with product support today, and it's only the first day. I have a lot of buyer's remorse. I have spent hours on hold, we have tried every troubleshooting attempt, but Poynt has decided that even though the terminal is not working the problem is mine. They will not replace this unit. They say everything looks good on their side so the broken terminal is my issue. I bought it today from them!!!!! It wont print receipts or process credit cards consistently and Poynt says too bad. DO NOT BUY!!!! BAD COMPANY.

from Shelonda, on Jan 15, 2018

My local Thai place has this device and I was pleasantly surprised at how small and sleek the device was, but more importantly-- how fast! Working for a processor, I notice these things especially.

from Joel, on Jan 22, 2018

I have a mobile business. I have had the system, which I bought through Costco, for 4 months. I have had zero problems, it processes credit cards in seconds through a mobile hotspot. My only small complaint is that the catalog buttons in the register get jumbled sometimes, we enter everything by size and color and the buttons sometimes get out of order and I have to log back in and organize them.

from Kevin C, on Feb 02, 2018

What a steaming pile. You would think it would at least do the same job as a traditional machine but better? Nope. It has tons of bells and whistles but can't do very basic tasks. I got mine today and spent four hours back and forth on the phone conference calling with tech support and my Elavon salesman and I still can't use it for my very basic needs. Run, don't walk, away from this product.

from Brock, on Feb 23, 2018

I ordered my Poynt terminal from MINDBODY, my business software provider. It works really well at my front desk and looks great. I would recommend it to other salon owners

from Nancy W. , on Mar 08, 2018

I used Poynt for about three weeks through Mindbody software. This is what Mindbody decided to partner with for our new chip readers. The issue is, the reporting is separate than the pos reports through Mindbody. It would not let me do a manual batch on the Poynt because of Mindbody, so the batch is a separate batch and takes longer to hit your bank account, as well as makes bookkeeping harder. The worst and final straw was the day it charged a client, then the following day it charged the same client again, but a random different amount. Also we checked out a client, she paid, and it shows that she never paid on our end, even though days later she was charged when her card settled, yet we never received the money. This machine was also notorious for telling people to reswipe, yet every time they looked at their bank account every swipe was a pending charge which freaks the customer out. The design is sleek and there were things I liked which is why I gave it two stars however it has too many bugs when handling money, and beyond all that is its main purpose.

from colleen black, on Mar 20, 2018

Very upset that suddenly, without notice, they don't deposit my CC transactions on Friday at all until Monday afternoon! They say they are having issues and that has last 3 weeks. About to search for a new company.

from Julia Park, on Mar 26, 2018

The POYNT system has design and function flaws. The biggest frustration is that the customer service people do not know what they are talking about. They give the wrong answers to questions. We have had to figure things out ourselves, and we have spent hours in frustration. We still have many unanswered questions that they cannot answer. The people selling this device do not know a single thing about how to set it up and use it.

from Steve, on Apr 01, 2018

This review is based upon owning two Poynt Terminals for 11 months... we've spent hours and hours on trying to get them functioning in our business. If it's not the registers stop working it's the forced updated changing the interface for the worse. Customer service is non existent - it's a message to a bottomless void and even when there is a response it has no value. Don't be blinded by the cool shiny design and empty promises, unless you like wasting your money!

from mark, on Apr 19, 2018

Does not work well as a basic cash register. Does not provide amount of cash to return to customer after hitting amount received. Employee has to do the math for cash due customer. A cheap $99 register from Staples does that. When I contacted Poynt they couldn't figure out the problem so the replaced my 2 terminals. Issue still exists and Poynt now says I need to go to transactions to find amt. due customer. What a pile of BS. DO NOT ENTER INTO AN AGREEMENT OR CONSIDER THIS TERMINAL AS A REPLACEMENT FOR A CASH REGISTER. May now need to contact my attorney to void to contract.

from Ashley, on Aug 10, 2018

These terminals stop working like once a week. we've never had this many issues with terminals until we got Poynt. Its thousands of dollars to use them but they dont even function and when you try to call them nobody answers. Do not buy unless you want your terminal to go down weekly. Huge inconvenience

from Rebecca Sermon, on Aug 30, 2018

I don't think anyone at Poynt has ever had any experience working in a real business, restaurant, bar or cafe. I have spent THOUSANDS on these devices and they don't work. They crash while charing cards. They load slow as molasses. They are so slow you wonder if something is wrong with them, and then they suddenly crash. I have had customers get multiple pending charges on their credit cards and I'm worried they may never come back to me. Thanks Poynt! Now as for this review. First of all, NONE of their own software works. Imagine buying a car and it comes with half a steering wheel. Then the car company says, "Sorry, you have to go out and pay HUNDREDS of dollars per month to rent the other half of the steering wheel from someone else to make it work!" This is the Poynt business model. Want to do something simple like the ability to manage multiple customers' orders at the same time? Forget about it. Want to discount something 100%? Forget about it. What to get support? Forget about it. Want to return this POS after realizing you've been duped? Forget about it! I have spent hours on the phone trying to get help and Poynt support is nonexistent. At this point my only hope is that someone out there will come around and make some software for these devices that actually WORKS and can help my business do SIMPLE things. I will gladly pay monthly for it. But as it is, STAY AWAY FROM POYNT. I really wish I wasn't trapped in Poynt hell. I hope you don't get trapped.

from Chris , on Sep 06, 2018

Can I say I am sorry for anyone that hasn't enjoyed using the Poynt. I am an agent for a large processor and I absolutely love giving my clients this terminal. Thats right I buy the terminal for my clients with my earnings because I believe in this product so much. I agree that Poynt Customer Service they could be much better but I have a good team of tech support and my own Poynt expertise to solve most issues in about 5-10minutes remotely. As a business owner you should know what your getting. This is a credit card terminal anyone else trying to sell you this as a POS is dead wrong. Yes it can work as a POS but the functions are light and some business need just that. I love the reporting for CC it gives the office people real time data that I haven't seen before and the reporting makes it easy for companies that feel tied in with their POS to break free without losing the reports they receive with there POS. Overall, I think this system is perfect for businesses as a credit card terminal.

Showing 1 - 20 of 23 requests
QUOTE NOW FOR FREE!

Get instant quotes for processing
Using the Poynt

Top
Want to use the numbers? Register now and access all the features! Sign Up Now!