Ask for a quote

These experts helped us to
create our product content:

Poynt Review

Credit Card Machines

The Poynt credit card processing machine is getting some attention for its interesting design and claims of being “future proof.” The Android-based terminal has dual screens within a single device – one screen faces the cashier, and the other screen faces the customer.

The idea behind Poynt’s dual screens is that you won’t need to hand over a terminal or swivel around the screen for customers to sign or add a tip, and both people using the machine have some privacy. It looks nice, and can add convenience to your checkout process, but what about the other details, like features and pricing? This Poynt review and profile has the info you need if you’re considering the Poynt terminal.

What does “future proof” mean as far as the Poynt system?

Poynt talks on its website about how payment technologies change rapidly, meaning customers frequently access new ways of paying. The US is in the midst of a shift to EMV chip cards, Apple Pay and other NFC/digital wallet payment options are here, and who knows what other technologies will come up in the future.

The Poynt system claims to minimize the need to switch terminals every time new technology comes on the scene by offering ways to take all existing payment forms and providing open development channels and the ability to add apps for different functions.

While making a definitive claim that you would never need a new terminal would be a stretch, Poynt currently accepts all forms of payment, including the newer EMV and NFC (contactless) technologies, as well as QR code and barcode scanning. QR code scanning will allow the Poynt system to accept Chase Pay, a digital wallet that doesn’t utilize tap-to-pay/NFC technology. Between accepting EMV, contactless payments, and QR codes, it’s fairly likely that the Poynt terminal will be able to handle any new type of payment for awhile.

Is Poynt a point of sale system?

Not exactly. While it doesn’t look like the typical credit card machines that have PIN pads and small screens, the Poynt system is still a credit card machine, not a full-fledged POS system. It’s closer to a cash register replacement. Poynt does plan to offer additional POS system functions in the future, at which point the machine may become more of a point of sale system. Check out the video below to see Poynt in action.

 

Features

As mentioned above, Poynt is not a POS system, so if you need the wide range of features offered by a full point of sale solution, you’ll want to look elsewhere. (Check our POS system directory for other options.) However, if you’re looking for a cash register replacement with features like portability, store and forward capabilities, and basic reporting, Poynt is worth a look.

Mobility

The Poynt machine is portable, so you can move around with it for any number of reasons. Maybe you want to offer curbside pickup at your restaurant – your staff can carry the Poynt terminal outside to take payment. Hitting a fair to sell your goods? Bring your Poynt machine.

Store and Forward

Poynt offers an offline processing mode (also known as ”store and forward”) if a connection is not available. You can still accept payments in the offline mode to process at a later time, so you won’t miss sales just because of connection problems.

Reporting

The reporting app, Poynt HQ, offers information on transactions and trends as well as customer information. You can search sales data and export it for further analysis and business management. The reporting app offers information using smartphones or computers.

Credit Card Processing with Poynt

Poynt is not proprietary and can work with many existing processors. That’s good news if you’re trying to keep credit card processing costs down, as you have more opportunity to find the most competitive solution.

Poynt is compatible with major processors including Chase Paymentech, Vantiv, First Data, Elavon, TSYS, Global Payments, and more. Note that this doesn’t mean you need a direct account with those companies; there are many smaller processing companies (ISOs) that can support the Poynt machine. Get credit card processing quotes.

Security

Poynt is fully PCI compliant, utilizes end-to-end encryption, and meets EMV requirements. Additionally, Poynt comes with 24 hour fraud and tamper detection to help ensure maximum safety and security.

Specs

Poynt has a variety of features for customer and business convenience, and anticipates adding more features in the future.

Connectivity and Communication

The Poynt terminal connects to Wifi and 3G networks, and includes Bluetooth connectivity. Currently, Ethernet connectivity is not available, though a dock with Ethernet capability is in the works. A micro USB port allows connection for recharging the battery.

Display

The cashier-facing screen is an 800 x 1280 pixel 7” touchscreen tablet display and includes a cashier-facing camera. The customer-facing screen is an 800 x 480 pixel 4.3” touchscreen display with an NFC antenna surrounding the touchscreen for easy contactless payments.

Keypad

The Poynt terminal features a touchscreen display with an on-screen keypad. Optional external PIN pads may be supported if you prefer the feel of physical keys.

Printer

A built-in thermal printer is under the customer-facing screen, with the receipt slot facing the customer for quick access. Poynt recommends 2-1/4” x 16” printer rolls.

Accessories

Poynt supports optional accessories if you need more from your machine. You can add cash registers, produce scales, check readers, and more.  

Pricing

Poynt itself doesn’t charge per transaction fees. Your costs to use Poynt will be the purchase of the machine itself, and the credit card processing charges from the processor you choose.

Product Features

Universal

Credit Card Machines

  • Dial-Up
  • Dual/Comm
  • Wireless
  • Wifi
  • Contactless
  • EMV/ Smartcard
  • Built in Contactless Reader
  • NFC Capable
  • Internal PIN Pad
  • Store & Forward
  • Multiple merchant support
  • Multi application support
  • Encrypted

Poynt Q&A

Dharma Merchant Services answer:

Yes!


TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

Please refer to POYNT support in order to get this question answered. We don't resell this product. 

Thanks
Team TSYS


TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

To enable tip through Poynt the merchant will want to log onto their Poynt HQ (www.poynt.net) and go to the ?Business? tab. There will be a button on the bottom left that says ?Manage Store?. Click that button and then go to the ?Payment Settings? tab where there should be a toggle switch to enable/disable tip. Screenshots below. If you are still having trouble then whoever set up your account should be able to change it for you.?

Thanks,?

TSYS Team


Dharma Merchant Services answer:

Assuming tips are enabled, the customer will have an option to tip during the sale, on the customer-facing screen. You can edit tip acceptance by following these instructions: https://dharmamerchantservices.com/faq/customizing-tips-with-poynt/


TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

Please refer to Poynt's website and customer support for these questions.

Thanks
Team TSYS

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

It's actually recommended that you don't use a stylus.?

Thanks,

TSYS Team?


Dharma Merchant Services answer:

It's a standard touchscreen, so most styluses should work - that being said, it's designed to function best with your fingers.


TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

https://www.cardfellow.com/product-directory/credit-card-machines/poynt/poynt/

Thanks,

TSYS Team

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

This is not a device that we internally support. Please refer to the reseller of this device for specific questions on functionality.?

Thanks
Team TSYS

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

Plastic back, glass front, very similar to an Andriod device.

Thanks,

TSYS Team

TSYS Merchant Solutions answer:

Please call your Poynt reseller for this information, this is a device we don't support internally. 

Thanks
Team TSYS


Poynt Reviews (54)

Do you know this product? Write a review about it
from Chris, on Oct 22, 2020

Would give zero stars if possible. Constantly gives transaction errors for no reason, doesn't reliably process payments. Randomly restarts 5-10x daily and requires us to go to troubleshooting menu to do a goofy workaround to get it to reconnect to internet. Wifi drops like crazy, even though we can get our wifi signal 100 yds from the terminal with no issues. For some reason touchless works perfect though... swiped and chip works 2/10 times when first scanned. Garbage, lost $1k on this terminal and no refunds.

from Marshall B, on Oct 01, 2020

I wish I knew who was behind the software in these Poynt machines. We run a 5 store location business that was hoping to save on fees by going with Poynt for processing to help offset our losses due to the pandemic. One month in and we've had all the same problems listed by other reviewers so its clear to me that this is not a one-off issue. Poynt has an app store and I would think there are companies that make better software for these machines but we discovered that most of them are outrageously expensive and come with their own set of problems. I think this company is just horribly mismanaged and not working with the best or brightest in the industry. I lost about $35K going with Poynt. Don't make the same mistake!

from Jim Franzese, on Sep 24, 2020

I have had this system for just over a year. The tablet is very nice and works fine with the customer inserting their credit card. The problem lies with the Poynt software. We were trying to refund a customer and it charged them instead of refunding them. Then transactions were run once and the customer was charged twice!! I called and they said they were having software issues. I have been waiting two weeks and the same problems are still happening. I cannot run my business like this. I am going away from Poynt just as soon as I can!! I am getting bad reviews from customers because they think I am not willing to do their refund or that I double charged them. Great machine and absolutely terrible software! Take my advice and stay away from this system.

from Jacquelyn, on Aug 28, 2020

Poynt is a horrible company. They cancelled our account and held $16,872 of our money for 6 months because we were growing too quickly for them. We even had our customers try to call them to confirm the transactions, and they just ignored us. Never trust this company.

from Janet Gossett, on Jun 24, 2020

Terrible machine & service! Just don't do it!!!

from Florencio coria, on Jun 23, 2020

Poynt is completely garbage. It's almost like it's designed to break.

from Dave Pettie, on Mar 05, 2020

GARBAGE!!! I was called by a rep from e-swipe and told they could get me lower processing fees. Sounded great, so I decided to go ahead with signing up. The new terminals arrived fairly quickly but they were Poynt which I certainly wouldn't have agreed to. Anyways, I've had the terminals for less than 2 days and I'm sending them back and cancelling. I sure hope the $4000 transaction from yesterday finds its way into my business account.

from Elissa Taylor, on Feb 26, 2020

We had Poynt for one month before canceling. I would say the reviews here seem to cover the issues we had. Our terminal had battery problems and would always be dead. It would only work if it was always plugged in. Then they had an issue on their end where the system was down for a few hours and we couldn't run cards. That convinced us to find an alternative. The device is really beautiful and sleek, but still needs to be improved. Canceling and returning our terminal was not a huge hassle but it did take 3 days to get customer service.

from Badiyah Amir, on Feb 20, 2020

We have been using the Poynt system & EVO along with Quickbooks for over a year, after the initial set-up it's been working great and very easy to adjust or with support if needed, very small monthly fee and low rates, so much so we were able to drop our minimum fee. All card & Apply Pay transactions are in the bank in a day or two, and the customers love it. Without EVO's low rates & Quickbooks we might have had a different experience. I'm surprised at the low ratings, because our experience has been very different. The only thing, as mentioned before, the paper roll within the Poynt is very small, but we were given an external larger printer too. If what everyone is saying is true about the possibility of them going out of business is true, we are sorry to hear and will be sizing up other alternatives, but for now we are very satisfied with Poynt and hope they will improve on the issues mentioned by others so we won’t have to change.

from Jay Jeet, on Feb 07, 2020

I'm so mad I didn't read these reviews 2 weeks earlier. Poynt is nothing but trouble. Worst hardware and software for any POS system sold. You're better off using a pencil and paper and a pigeon to fly your transactions to the credit card companies and banks. Junk!

from Keith R, on Jan 19, 2020

Reading these reviews made me sad. I worked for Elavon under processor and POS sales for the last 5 years. We were all ecstatic when Poynt first came on the scene. I would have given them 5 stars based on our company's close relationship with Poynt, and how advanced their products initially seemed to be. However, I think Poynt's downfall was that they stopped building their product's core software before it was ready for primetime and they never bothered to fix it. Also, their hardware is now ancient compared to other POS terminals we sell. All of this means customers have nothing but headaches with Poynt, and we (Elavon) were often on the hook for replacing the devices and doing Poynt's customer service for them. I was recently told by Elavon management that Poynt will likely go bankrupt in 2020 and that Poynt is aggressively shopping for someone to buy them out. Sadly, there is no way anyone would buy them with their huge amount of debt, hardware and software problems and low install base. I think they only have 70,000-100,000 total devices installed. Meanwhile Square has over 5 million. If I was a customer, none of this would give me any confidence in using Poynt going forward. I think they had a moment where they could have been great, but they were unfortunately horribly mismanaged.

from Karen O'Brian , on Jan 13, 2020

We were scammed by Elavon who sold us these Poynt devices. We lost thousands in just three months because we had to juggle broken terminals while switching to another POS system while still paying outrageous monthly fees for the malfunctioning Poynt system. Everything about this company and their products is just awful. Our advice is to stay away from both Elavon and Poynt. Rotten!

from Na Nguyen, on Jan 07, 2020

Scam company. Very bad service and liars. They've owed my business around $300 for 2 years. I've since closed the business and they still haven't refunded the money, and they keep charging me $125. For what? I've called them, but they can't answer any questions and still won't refund the money. I'll never use US Bank and Poynt merchant services for my business again.

from Cassandra R, on Jan 07, 2020

I’ve never hated (and I don’t use that word lightly) anything more in my life than these worthless Poynt terminals. They don’t calculate our taxes correctly, and there is no fix for it. They say the credit card was successfully processed, but later you find out it wasn’t, and now the customer is gone and you are out of hundreds of dollars. I just cant believe this is a real company making these horrible products. How is it possible? How are they not bankrupt or out of business by now? I looked up Poynt’s BBB rating. FAILING! No surprise. It’s our fault for not researching this more before getting suckered into Poynt. If you read this don’t gamble with your sanity and business’s profits. RUN away from Poynt and find any of the better and cheaper options that are out there.

from Ted Sanders, on Jan 06, 2020

I think we were conned into buying Poynt because of their low processing fees. It’s all a lie. Fees are variable, read the fine print. Their product is so poorly designed and developed that it’s impossible to imagine anyone being proud of making and selling this POS. We bought 4 devices and 2 broke in the first two weeks. Their native apps and software look like they were built in India by amateurs. It’s unusable. The malfunctioning Poynt devices were replaced, but then a week later one of the other two devices stopped working. Who has time to waste days upon days with their horrible support instead of running their business? Nobody. Who is going to cover our lost time and revenue while troubleshooting their crappy software? Nobody.

from Olivia , on Dec 30, 2019

We have this system for our nail salon. Honestly, I wish there was an option for negative reviews. 1) it doesn’t even work? Every time (yes 9/10 times) it doesn’t read the card. When it does, then we have to print a receipt or we don’t get the tip the customer selects on the machine. It takes about 3-5 mins to go through (says there’s an error), and even when it does the pay screen won’t go away for up to 10 mins. 2) customer service sucks. They’re rude and “mansplain." My coworkers don’t speak good English, so their employees think they can’t work the machine right. I’m an American in my late twenties so you know technology isn’t a problem for me. I can tell you now it’s the machine, not my coworkers . It’s extremely unprofessional how they treated my boss. Sent us about 5 different machines in the mail including an old school card reader. 3) the ONLY good thing about this system is how nice it looks. The terminal is sleek and the program is easy to use (when it wants to work-rarely). We love that it works with Mangomint, unfortunately their own terminal won’t be here for awhile. Poynt if you’re reading this, I suggest you apologize to everyone using your system. Spending their hard earned money on something you promise to work, then having the audacity to blame the customer? I don’t think so. Thanks for reading my ted talk on “pointless” poynt system.

from Zack Brooks, on Dec 03, 2019

We purchased 2 Poynt terminals with high hopes from Poynt. The terminals look nice and slick but they feel like they are 10 years behind in terms of the actual hardware tech that is in them. They are super slow. They crash. The software is useless and crashes all the time and you get billed an outrageous amount for it. Nothing really works 100% of the time. My advice is to look at Square or any of the real payment companies that are out there. But if you have very low volume transactions, don't mind losing a few sales due to your terminal not charging cards, duplicating charges when you are trying to make one transaction, or don't mind having dead terminals in the morning, then go for Poynt. It is also impossible to use the scanner they claim is built into the device, so plan on spending more than what the sales person will tell you that you're getting. We had to fight like crazy to get out of our contract so be wary of whatever you sign or agree to with this company.

from Cynthia , on Nov 14, 2019

I wish I had read reviews before we took this system which was recommended by our bank. This Poynt system does not function more often than it does. We have only been able to run a few transactions since we got it 5 months ago - and our clients have had to go get cash, paypal or Venmo when our system is not working. We cannot get out of the Ladco Lease either - total rip off. Beware!

from Hilleary Chandler, on Sep 24, 2019

Their online system has been down now for 5 days and the only answer I have received ever since has continued to be "we have no idea when it will be back up". We have constant problems with the terminal itself taking payments and accepting the credit card. It is constantly declining cards. We are changing services immediately. I will not use a product that goes down for 5 days and still have no answers. This is extremely unreliable for a product that is so important.

from Marta, on Aug 12, 2019

We own a bakery and were introduced to Poynt device. The only nice thing about it - it looks good and kind of a fancy way to process payment but nothing else. We have issues with it at least once a week, we exchanged at least 4 devices since we opened (August 2018) and each time they promise to overnight the new replacement. That actually never was the case. We had to wait at least a few days before they even bothered to ship it. Customer service is less than helpful, they put you on hold and then hangup or transfer to each other with no solution to the problem. Overall: nice interface, bad performance, a lot of software, firmware and hardware issues. One star is for the interface.

Showing 1 - 20 of 54 requests
Top
Want to use the numbers? Register now and access all the features! Sign Up Now!